Dyspraxia Ireland DCD uses cookies to give you the best experience on our websites. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies as described in this Privacy Policy. Click here to remove this message.

Background Colour

Text Size

"The Next Adventure - Transitioning to Secondary School" by Dr. Dorothy Armstrong



Is it just over two weeks since we had the successful launch of "The Next Adventure - Transitioning to Secondary School" by Dr. Dorothy Armstrong, our Board Member. 

The event was wonderful a great mix of parents, children and professionals working the field.  Regina Doherty, Government Chief Whip who launched the book spoke movingly about her son who has Dyspraxia. The panel discussion featured Regina, Dorothy, Catherine Whelan & Dorothy's son, Alan (who has Dyspraxia) all speaking about their experience of transitioning to secondary school. A special mention has to go to Alan who spoke so articulately & positively about his own school experience. 

In the history of Dyspraxia/ DCD Ireland we have never had an event which was attended by so many politicians. This event would not have been the success it was without all the hard work by you. I want to thank everyone who contacted/ emailed/ phoned their local representative and asked them to attend. By sharing your personal story you made a far bigger impact then we ever could as an organisation. A special thanks also to those who were able to attend on the day and spoke directly to representatives. 

Thank you for helping us raise awareness as we work to make the school experience better for all children with Dyspraxia/ DCD. 

Please find below the list of all those who attended or sent a representative. 

  • Clare Daly (Sent representative) 
  • Danny Healy-Rae
  • Darragh O'Brien
  • Declan Breathnach (Sent representative) 
  • Finian McGrath
  • Gerry Adams (Sent representative) 
  • Heather Humphreys
  • Jackie Cahill
  • Jim Daly
  • Jim O'Callaghan (Sent representative) 
  • Joan Collins (Sent representative) 
  • Kate O'Connell
  • Kevin O'Keeffe
  • Margaret Murphy O'Mahony
  • Maria Bailey
  • Martin J Ferris
  • Mattie McGrath
  • Maureen O'Sullivan
  • Michael Collins
  • Michael Harty (Sent representative) 
  • Michael Healy-Rae
  • Niamh Smyth
  • Noel Grealish
  • Noel Rock
  • Regina Doherty
  • Róisín Shortall (Sent representative) 
  • Tom Neville
  • Willie Penrose
  • Gerry Horkan (Sent representative) 
  • Joe O'Reilly
  • Joan Freeman (Sent representative) 


Share This Page

Site Map

Ilikecake Ltd